EBAC credit system

What is a CME Credit?


A CME credit is a unit of time that a physician spends attending a CME activity.

By participating in an accredited CME activity a physician can earn CME credits, depending on the time spent in the CME activity.

These credits can be reported to a local or national CME authority.


How does EBAC award CME credits?


  • 1 CME credit point will be awarded for 1 hour of education, which should contain 45 minutes of presentation and 15 minutes for discussion per hour of education.
  • The maximum of CME points for one day of education is 6.


  • 1 CME credit point will be awarded for 1 hour of education.
  • For articles, EBAC recommends to provide material equals 6-10 pages printed in a journal format.
  • Each unit of education needs to go along with 6 multiple choice questions (MCQs) (with 5 stems each), out of which 4 have to be answered correctly.

EBAC Recommends

EBAC recognizes two categories of CME credits:

  • External CME: formally planned and accredited activities
  • Internal CME: personal and institutional non-evaluated learning activities

EBAC recommends that cardiologists earn a minimum of 250 CME credits over a period of 5 years, to be divided as follows:

  • 125 External CME
  • 125 Internal CME

EBAC recommends 2 hours of professional reading per week.

Necessity for CME

Keeping up-to date with the latest achievements in diagnosis and treatment of one’s specialty is a physician’s professional obligation. In certain countries it became a legal obligation today. The graph below shows the evolution of a physician’s competence.