EBAC International Recognition

Although EBAC certificates are endorsed by a great number of national societies, cardiologists have been frequently facing bureaucratic obstacles when applying for recognition of EBAC CME points in their home countries.

For German, Austrian, Swiss and Estonian cardiologists this procedure has now been largely simplified:

1 – EBAC has signed an agreement that with a starting point of the ESC Congress 2011 EBAC certificates will show the technical data needed to enter the certificate directly into the nationwide data bank for CME activities in Germany. Cardiologists in Germany now only need to put their personalized barcode on the certificate in order to get their EBAC CME points recognized for their personal CME certificate, which is mandatory by law in Germany.

2 – For Austria the Österreichische Akademie der Ärzte has provided EBAC with a statement to be printed on the certificates that EBAC accredited events will automatically be recognized in Austria.

3 – For Switzerland EBAC CME points are valid for FMH Fortbildungsprogramm Kardiologie according to Voraussetzungskatalog, IA.

4 – For Estonia EBAC points will be recognized automatically by the Estonian Society of Cardiology on behalf of Ministry of Social Affairs of the Republic of Estonia.

5 – The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) and the European Board for Accreditation in Cardiology (EBAC) have recognized each other’s accreditation systems as substantially equivalent.

This is a major step forward towards automatized recognition of EBAC CME points on the national level and adds additional value to the CME activities of cardiologists visiting EBAC accredited events.

EBAC accreditation is not competitive but rather subsidiary to national accreditation systems, targeting the participants from foreign countries. Therefore, in parallel to EBAC accreditation, national accreditation as to be applied for – for the participants of the country where the event takes place.

National Cardiac Societies

Continuing Medical Education is still in the process of being harmonized in Europe.

The aim of harmonization is that CME credits are recognized between countries and across medical specialities. EBAC actively contributes to this process and hopes to activate greater participation in international meetings, facilitate knowledge sharing and promote better clinical practice within cardiology.

Already 27 National Cardiac Societies and 2 CME Accreditation Authorities officially recognized the competence of EBAC to accredit international Continuing Medical Education programmes in Cardiology:

Albanian Society of Cardiology
Austrian Society of Cardiology
Belgian Society of Cardiology
British Cardiovascular Society
Croatian Cardiac Society
Cyprus Society of Cardiology
Danish Society of Cardiology
Finnish Cardiac Society
French Society of Cardiology
German Cardiac Society
Hellenic Cardiological Society
Hungarian Society of Cardiology
Irish Cardiac Society
Italian Federation of Cardiology
Lebanese Society of Cardiology
New Lithuanian Society of Cardiology
Luxembourg Society of Cardiology
Netherlands Society of Cardiology
Norwegian Society of Cardiology
Polish Cardiac Society
Portuguese Society of Cardiology
Romanian Society of Cardiology
Slovenian Society of Cardiology
Spanish Society of Cardiology
Swedish Society of Cardiology
Swiss Society of Cardiology
Turkish Society of Cardiology

2 CME Accreditation Authorities

Austrian Akademie of Physicians (March 31st, 2003)
The Netherlands Institute for Continuing Cardiovascular Education (CVOI) (Oct. 2001)

Download CME map in Europe (PDF, 51KB)