EBAC Structure

Legal structure

The European Board for Accreditation in Cardiology (EBAC) started its activities in 2001, as a joint initiative between the ESC (European Society of Cardiology) and the Cardiology Section of the UEMS (Union Européenne des Médecins Spécialistes).

Since 2011 EBAC is a limited liability company with the European Cardiology Section Foundation (ECSF), a non-profit, charitable Foundation, as sole stakeholder. ECSF has been started by UEMS Cardiology Section in 2010.

EBAC runs an Advisory and Reviewing Committee, which takes responsibility for the accreditation process, and advises ECSF with regard to matters in accreditation policy.

EBAC holds agreements on mutual recognition of substantial equivalency of accreditation systems with the US Accreditation Council for CME (ACCME) and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

EBAC invites major European scientific societies to participate in the work of EBAC. Currently the European Atherosclerosis Society (EAS) and the European Society of Hypertension (ESH) have nominated representatives.


EBAC Advisory and Reviewing Committee

Thomas Binder

Hans Erik Botker

Jaan Eha

Shurleen Garland

Reinhard Griebenow

Jesper Khedri Jensen

Sashicanta Kaku

Antero Kesäniemi

Lars-Immo Krämer

Mette Marie Madsen

Jörg Stein, Chairman